773-484-3131 or 847-215-2600

Available 24/7

Skokie DUI Defense Lawyer

SKOKIE DUI DEFENSE LAWYER

If you or a loved one has recently been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol in Skokie or the surrounding area, you need to call a Skokie DUI defense lawyer. Our Skokie DUI lawyers can help you understand the charges that have been brought against you. We can also help you understand the different choices you have when it comes to responding to the charges and can help you pick the best course of action for your situation.

Just 16 miles outside of Chicago, Skokie, Illinois is a beautiful place to live. Over 60,000 people call Skokie home and enjoy all Skokie has to offer while being close enough to enjoy the hustle and bustle of Chicago without difficulty.  Unfortunately, this close proximity to Chicago means that Skokie residents are often arrested and charged with DUIs when driving home from a night in the city. At Goldman & Associates we offer Skokie residents and visitors comprehensive, personalized criminal defense representation focusing on Skokie DUI cases.

 

In Illinois, there are seriousness penalties associated with a DUI charge. These penalties are often dependent on whether or not this is your first DUI charge and if the DUI charge involves an accident that caused serious bodily injuries. The consequences are also dependent upon your age at the time of your arrest. If you were under 21, you face additional consequences for driving under the influence because you are not legally allowed to consume ANY alcohol before your 21st birthday.

Skokie DUI Lawyer can help Drivers 21 and over who have been charged with a DUI

Our Skokie DUI attorneys will work with you to avoid a conviction and the associated consequences but it is important for you to understand the potential consequences for the charge you are facing.

First DUI conviction in Skokie, Illinois – If you are convicted of a DUI in Skokie, Illinois and it is your first offense, you face a minimum of a one year suspension of your driver’s license, a fine of up to $2,500 and the possibility of imprisonment for up to one year.

Second DUI conviction in Skokie, Illinois – If you are convicted of a DUI in Skokie, Illinois and it is your second offense, you face a minimum of a five year suspension of your driver’s license, a fine of up to $2,500 and must either be imprisoned for five days or serve 240 hours of community service. You will also face the possibility of imprisonment for up to one year.

Third DUI conviction in Skokie, Illinois – If you are convicted of a DUI in Skokie, Illinois and it is your third offense, you will face some very severe consequences. You will lose your driver’s license for a minimum of 10 years, you will be imprisoned for a minimum of 18 – 30 months and may face imprisonment for up to seven years. You will also be subject to a significant fine, which may be as much as $25,000.

Drivers under 21 who have been charged with a DUI

In Skokie, Illinois and throughout the U.S., alcohol consumption is illegal if you are not 21 years old or older. Because underage drinking is illegal, the penalties for a DUI when you are under 21 are even more serious than they are for someone who is over 21.

First DUI conviction in Skokie, Illinois if you are under 21 – If you are convicted of driving under the influence when you are under 21, you will lose your driver’s license for a minimum of 2 years. You will also face the potential of up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.

Second DUI conviction in Skokie, Illinois if you are under 21 – If you are convicted of driving under the influence for a second time when you are under 21 you will lose your license for a minimum of five years. You will be imprisoned for 5 days or forced to perform 240 hours of community service. You may also face a maximum fine of $2,500 and may be forced to serve up to a year in prison.

Third DUI conviction in Skokie, Illinois if you are under 21 – If you are convicted of driving under the influence for a third time in Skokie Illinois, you face the same consequences as someone who was of age. This means that you will lose your driver’s license for a minimum of 10 years, you will be imprisoned for a minimum of 18 – 30 months and may face imprisonment for up to seven years. You will also be subject to a significant fine, which may be as much as $25,000.

Aggravated DUI

In Skokie, Illinois an aggravated DUI is a DUI that involves an accident that caused great bodily injury or permanent disfigurement. If you were intoxicated and caused an accident that led to a serious injury or disfigurement you could be facing some very serious consequences including:

  • The loss of your driver’s license for 1 year,
  • 10 days imprisonment or 480 hours of community service,
  • A maximum fine of up to $25,000, and
  • Imprisonment up to 12 years.

Regardless of the charge you are facing and whether or not this is your first DUI, our Skokie DUI lawyers can help. Call us today to discuss your options. You have nothing to lose, our consultations are free, give us a call now!