773-484-3131 or 847-215-2600

Available 24/7

Northbrook DUI Attorney

 

Experienced Northbrook DUI Attorney

If you or a family member have been charged with a DUI in Northbrook, Illinois, your first call needs to be to a Northbrook DUI attorney who can fight to protect your rights. Northbrook is a village located in Cook County, Illinois and has a population of about 33,170 permanent residents. The land area of Northbrook is about 13.26 square miles.

Because there are about five fewer crimes committed per square mile in Northbrook, Illinois as compared to the national average, it is safe to say that this particular area is tough on crime. This is true for DUI charges too. Given Northbrook’s proactive stance on crime in this area, it is all the more important that you have aggressive representation to defend your rights if you are charged with a DUI in Northbrook. When it comes to protecting the rights of those charged with a DUI, there is not a more aggressive choice than the experienced Northbrook DUI Attorney’s at Goldman & Associates.

All DUI charges in Northbrook will be handled at the Second Municipal District Courthouse located in Skokie. The address of the courthouse is 5600 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, Illinois 60077. If you are fighting a DUI charge in Northbrook, one of the best ways to ensure your case is handled properly is to work with a Northbrook DUI Attorney who has handled many of these same cases in the same courthouse where you will be defending your case. The talented and skilled team at Goldman & Associates has years of experience defending and winning DUI charges in the Northbrook area and is very familiar representing clients in the Skokie courthouse.

DUI Laws in Illinois

Under Illinois law, no one may operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21 years, then there is a zero tolerance policy for any BAC above .00 under Illinois law.

A DUI is a criminal offense which demands the attention of a trusted Northbrook DUI lawyer. This is much more serious than a standard traffic offense, and you must treat a DUI charge as seriously as you would any other crime in order to avoid stiff penalties under the law. No one understands the severity of a DUI charge and the impact it can have on your life better than the DUI attorneys at Goldman & Associates. That is why we are so aggressive in fighting for your rights right off the bat.

Statutory Summary Suspension/Revocation in Illinois

In Illinois, if you fail chemical testing for your BAC or refuse to take the test, statutory summary suspension of your license will apply. This is an automatic suspension of your driver’s license that takes effect 46 days after you receive notice from the arresting officer.

The first time you fail chemical testing for BAC, your driving privileges are suspended for a period of six months. You may be eligible for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). If you fail the test for a second time within five years of your first offense, your driving privileges will be suspended for a period of one year. For the first time you refuse to submit to chemical testing, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year, although you may be eligible for an MDDP. Any subsequent offense will result in a suspension of driving privileges for a period of three years.

After receiving notice of a statutory summary suspension, you will have 90 days from the notice date to request a judicial hearing. An experienced Northbrook DUI attorney will be able to assist you with this process. We will fight to prevent your license from being suspended at all, even if you fail the breathalyzer test.

Administrative Driver’s License Revocation After a DUI Charge

In Illinois, the Secretary of State’s office handles the administrative aspects of consequences for a DUI charge. If you have been involved in an accident resulting in serious injury or a fatality, your driving privileges may be revoked quickly in Illinois. The state’s attorney communicates with the Secretary of State’s office to arrange for the revocation of driving privileges if there is sufficient evidence. This can occur without a hearing, and privileges may be revoked until the adjudication of the criminal case.

Criminal Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Illinois

There are many factors that affect what penalties can apply to a DUI charge in Illinois, such as your criminal history and the circumstances of the DUI arrest. For each subsequent DUI conviction, the criminal penalties increase in severity.

A first time conviction will be classified as a Class A misdemeanor under Illinois law, which can carry a possible prison sentence of up to one year and fines not to exceed $2,500. This can result in the revocation of driving privileges for a minimum period of one year and suspension of vehicle registration. In the event that the driver had a BAC of .16 or more, there is also a mandatory fine of at least $500 and at least 100 community service hours. If any passenger in the car was under the age of 16, additional penalties of a fine of at least $1,000 and 25 community service hours apply. The offense rises to the level of an aggravated DUI and a Class 4 felony if the minor child passenger is harmed in an accident.

For a second DUI conviction in Illinois, the offense is classified as a Class A misdemeanor. In addition to the Class A misdemeanor penalties, the second conviction can result in a mandatory minimum prison sentence of five days or 240 hours of community service. There will also be a revocation of driving privileges for a second offense within 20 years of five years as well as a suspension of vehicle registration. If the offense involves a BAC of .16 or more, there will also be a mandatory prison sentence of two days and a minimum fine of at least $1,250. A second DUI conviction that involves the transport of a child under the age of 16 is considered an aggravated DUI and a Class 4 felony. The offense is considered a Class 2 felony if the minor child passenger is harmed in an accident, which means a fine of $5,000 and 25 days of required community service.

A third DUI conviction is considered an aggravated DUI and a Class 2 felony under Illinois law, which means possible imprisonment of three to five years and a maximum fine of $25,000. You may face revocation of driving privileges for at least 10 years and suspension of your vehicle registration. If the offense involves a BAC of .16 or more, there will also be a mandatory prison sentence of 90 days and a minimum fine of at least $2,500. A third DUI conviction that involves the transport of a child under the age of 16 will involve a fine of at least $25,000 and 25 days of required community service.

A fourth DUI conviction is considered an aggravated DUI and a Class 2 felony under Illinois law, which means possible imprisonment of three to five years and a maximum fine of $25,000. You may face revocation of driving privileges for life and suspension of your vehicle registration. If the offense involves a BAC of .16 or more, there will also be a mandatory minimum fine of at least $5,000. A fourth DUI conviction that involves the transport of a child under the age of 16 will involve a fine of at least $25,000 and 25 days of required community service.

A fifth DUI conviction is considered an aggravated DUI and a Class 1 felony under Illinois law, which means possible imprisonment of four to 15 years and a maximum fine of $25,000. You may face revocation of driving privileges for life and suspension of your vehicle registration. If the offense involves a BAC of .16 or more, there will also be a mandatory minimum fine of at least $5,000. A fourth DUI conviction that involves the transport of a child under the age of 16 will involve a fine of at least $25,000 and 25 days of required community service.

A sixth DUI conviction is considered an aggravated DUI and a Class X felony under Illinois law, which means possible imprisonment of six to 30 years and a maximum fine of $25,000. You may face revocation of driving privileges for life and suspension of your vehicle registration. If the offense involves a BAC of .16 or more, there will also be a mandatory minimum fine of at least $5,500. A fourth DUI conviction that involves the transport of a child under the age of 16 will involve a fine of at least $25,000 and 25 days of required community service.

Consult with a Northbrook DUI Attorney Right Away

Time is of the essence in preparing your defense after being charged with a DUI. There are important deadlines and aspects of your case that must be taken care of immediately to ensure that all of your rights are protected as best as possible after a DUI charge. The first step in getting your life back to normal when facing a DUI charge is to speak with a Northbrook DUI lawyer who understands exactly how to win your case and keep you on the road in Illinois.

Our first priority at Goldman & Associates is to protect your rights and win your case. We leave nothing to chance and make sure that you are fully prepared to fight your DUI charge. Our team is available 24/7 to answer your call at 773.484.3131. Once you schedule your appointment with the team at Goldman & Associates, you are already on your way to achieving the best possible outcome from your DUI charge in Illinois. We do not delay in fighting to defend your rights after a DUI charge.